Edinburgh Old and New Towns

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh has been the Scottish capital since 1437. The history of the development of Edinburgh is given here

It has two separate parts: the Edinburgh Old Town, dominated by a medieval castle; and the neoclassical Edinburgh New Town, developed in the 18th century and which had a far-reaching influence on European urban planning.

Edinburgh became a World Heritage Site in 1995. The key features of the World Heritage Site are:-

Landscape setting

Urban form and architecture

History and Heritage

Walking around the Edinburgh World Heritage Site, you will see an impressive range of buildings, monuments, streets and points of interest. This interactive map of Edinburgh gives you a guide to particular sites and their location.. The main places to see are

1. Edinburgh Castle
2. National Gallery of Scotland
3. John Knox House
4. The Georgian House
5. Gladstone's Land
6. Palace of Holyrood House
7. National Museums of Scotland
8. City Chambers
9. Scott Monument
10. Royal Scottish Academy
11. Usher Hall
12. Old College, University of Edinburgh 13. Cockburn Street
14. Victoria Street
15. Scottish Whisky Heritage Centre
16. Scottish Gallery of Modern Art
17. The Grassmarket
18. Greyfriars Church
19. Scottish Parliament
20. Calton Hill
21. Canongate Tolbooth
22. High Kirk of St Giles
23. Scottish National Portrait Gallery
24. Royal Bank of Scotland

Map of Heritage Places

Map of Edinburgh Conservation Area

Edinburgh World Heritage Trust


World Heritage Sites in Britain