The distinctive main street in Burford is long and steep. There is a jumbled juxtaposition of houses and shops. Grey gabled buildings with lichen encrusted roofs, hotels, shops, tea rooms and inns. Crooked roof lines, leaning walls, no two buildings the same.
A line of lime trees and a grass verge separate the houses from the road for half its length. At the memorial cross, the Tolsey, a market house from Tudor times, is now a museum.
Explore too the back lanes and alleys off the main street. The ancient Priory to the west, is now a claosed nunnery. It holds memories of Nell Gwyn and King Charles II - their resulting son was created Earl of Burford.
The church is to the east, and has a spendid spire. It was used as a prison during the Civil War, and has graffiti scratched by the Royalist prisoners still to be seen inside it.
As the main street runs down to the river, there is a row of fine Almshouses and the school founded in 1577. The town then ends at the narrow stone bridge, that can only carry one way traffic
Return to Cotswolds, England page